Friday, 15 May 2020

The Soul Killer by Ross Greenwood



Title: The Soul Killer
Series: The DI Barton Series Book 2
Author: Ross Greenwood
Genre: Crime
Publication Date: 7th May 2020
Publisher: Boldwood Books


‘Repent in this life, rejoice in the next…’

A murder made to look like suicide. Another that appears an accident. DI Barton investigates the tragedies that have shattered a family’s lives, but without obvious leads the case goes nowhere. Then, when the remains of a body are found, everything points to one suspect.

Barton and his team move quickly, and once the killer is behind bars, they can all breathe a sigh of relief. But death still lurks in the shadows, and no one's soul is safe. Not even those of the detectives…

How do you stop a killer that believes life is a rehearsal for eternity, and their future is worth more than your own…?

Ross Greenwood writes gritty, heart-pounding thrillers, with twists aplenty, and unforgettable endings. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham and Stuart MacBride.




My Review:

Written from two very different points of view, the author, Ross Greenwood, has given us a gripping read with a well-crafted plot.

The first viewpoint is that of the killer, who we meet at the start of the book, as a young boy suffering at the hands of his cruel and religious mother. Although we don't know who he is, this pov takes us inside his mind and lets us learn about his life and the reasoning behind his crimes.

The other perspective is that of DI Barton and his team as they investigate an apparent suicide, which is soon followed by a tragic accident within the same family. As the death toll mounts up, the team race to catch the culprit before he kills again.

The Soul Killer is a fast-paced, suspenseful thriller, with many twists and turns, and which I found difficult to put down. Although the second book of the series it works very well as a standalone read.

( I received a complimentary copy of the book for reviewing purposes. All opinions are my own.)



Author Bio:

Ross Greenwood is the author of six crime thrillers. Before becoming a full-time writer he was most recently a prison officer and so worked everyday with murderers, rapists and thieves for four years. He lives in Peterborough.









No comments :

Post a Comment