Sunday, 22 November 2015

The Seaforth Chronicles by B.J.Smash

The Witches of Merribay


*** An enchanted tale of Earth, Air, Fire, and Water ***
Living in Maine with her grandmother and eccentric aunts is not how sixteen-year-old Ivy Seaforth expected to spend her summer. Working for a peculiar, wealthy man and running errands for a powerful witch who lives in a tree wasn't in her plans, either. Her sister, Zinnia? Well, something was different. Zinnia was making mysterious visits to the forest, and that was certainly forbidden. Ivy longed for the days when she and her sister were best friends. Those days now seemed so long ago. Ivy soon discovers that, along with the witch, the forest is inhabited by a wondrous race of otherworldly and stunningly beautiful beings - the Fae, and a young man of an even fairer race. When her father disappears, Ivy, must convince the old witch to break an evil curse that prevents her from finding him. As she discovers her own mysterious past for the first time, she must learn to accept that things are not always as they seem and that magic might just be real.
With this new knowledge and the help of her new friends, will she be able to find her father? Will she be able to save her sister? Or is Zinnia already beyond being saved?

The Witch and the Hellhound


The adventure of a lifetime for a young woman just discovering the mystical and magical elements of the world that surrounds us all. Ivy Seaforth must journey to lands unknown to find and retrieve a certain book of spells stolen by her foolish sister, Zinnia. Encountering setbacks at every turn, Ivy must leave behind her mentor, the powerful Izadora, and delve deep inside herself for the courage to carry on. With her newfound friends, the handsome Lucian, and Pladia—the spitfire pixie— she travels to the mist-shrouded island of Hy Brasil. There she meets a great wizard, Maximus, who may be something just a bit grander than she expects.
In a chaotic quest to save those she loves, Ivy meets the light elves, the Seelie Fae, and must contend with the evil deeds of the Unseelie.
She also learns a dark secret about the McCallister clan that can no longer be hidden. Will she be able to accept and live with this secret?
And what about Aunt Cora? Ivy can’t help but meddle with her fate and now Cora is acting… quite strange. What will become of her? Will Cora continue to search for her true love…or has she already found him?

My Review

Witches, ghosts, fae, mermaids, hellhounds, fairies, elves and pixies... this series has them all and more.

It has a well written, fast paced, busy plot, with plenty of action and plot twists

The characters are interesting and the descriptions are creative.

I have read the first two books of the series, and will be reading more.

The Author

B.J.Smash aka Brenda J. Smith, grew up in a small town in Maine, literally in the middle of nowhere, where she may or may not have been taken to fairyland. She also may or may not have seen an elf or two roaming in the woods. Her books are inspired by dreams that she had in her younger days. Brenda lived in Thailand for five years, and now resides in Maryland with her husband, daughter, son, and two dogs. She loves to visit Scotland and hopes to someday visit Ireland. She will continue to write about the Fae as she understands them to be. Thank you for taking the time to read her books.

No comments :

Post a Comment