Monday, 9 November 2015

Hidden Impact by Piper J. Drake

HiddenImpact_banner

An aloof bodyguard and mercenary puts his heart on the line in HIDDEN IMPACT, the first book in the Safeguard series by Piper J. Drake.
Fans of Marie Force’s Fatal series or Laura Kaye’s Hard As It Gets, will love this brand new romantic suspense series.

Synopsis:
He’s not the hero she’s looking for...

As part of the elite Centurion Corporation team, military-veteran-turned-mercenary Gabriel Diaz is a natural defender. He’ll do anything to ensure a mission is successful. Anything but get emotionally invested—he learned the hard way that can be deadly. Easy bodyguard jobs in between the more challenging missions are all he’s interested in now.

Maylin Cheng is desperate and running out of time. Her younger sister has gone missing but no one seems to take her concern seriously. Her last hope lies in asking an aloof bodyguard for help. He dismisses her outright, but all that changes when she is almost killed in a not-so-accidental hit-and-run right before his eyes.

As Maylin leans on Gabriel, she begins to rely on him for more than just her safety. But as their attraction grows, so does the danger surrounding them. When the elaborate web they're trapped in unravels, Gabriel will do anything to protect them. Even if that means putting his heart in the crosshairs.


Book one of the Safeguard series
Get More information at: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iTunes


The Author:

Piper J. Drake (or “PJ”) began her writing career as “PJ Schnyder” writing sci-fi & paranormal romance and steampunk. She has recently received the FF&P PRISM award for her work as well as the NJRW Golden Leaf award and Parsec award. Now, PJ is exploring the complexity of romantic suspense, incorporating her interests in a mixed martial arts and the military into her writing.


Interview with Piper J. Drake:

Hi PJ, thank you for joining us today, could you tell us a little about yourself, please?
Hai! I’m Piper J. Drake, author of romantic suspense and lover of cupcakes! Ahem. It’s always hard to know what little bits about myself would be interesting as opposed to not. A few things about me:
  • I’m a dog and cat lover. I used to have 3 dogs and a ninja kitty but as time has gone by, all but the ninja kitty have passed away.
  • I travel about 85% of my time for my day job and love sharing my travel hijinx with my FB, Twitter, and Instagram followers.
  • I love to eat and I share my restaurant adventures during my travels via Yelp and TripAdvisor.
That’s the snapshot. I hope those were some fun facts about me that aren’t necessarily in a bio.


What is the name of your latest book and what inspired it?
HIDDEN IMPACT is a romantic suspense with inspirations from the stories my military veteran friends have told me and influences from my growing up Asian American.


What about your previous books, tell us a bit about them and how we can get our hands on them.
I’m previously published as PJ Schnyder and have several science fiction and paranormal romance books available. http://pjschnyder.com/blog/books/


What are the hardest and easiest parts about being a writer?
Time management is probably my biggest challenge as a writer. From a writing perspective, there’s always more stories I want to write and more ideas than I have time to write them. And then there’s all the other things a writer needs to do to make a writing career successful from social media to marketing to administrative work to behind-the-scenes shenanigans. It’s a lot to do and making sure it all gets done is always a work in progress.
I’m not sure there are easy parts about being a writer, but there are joyous parts that are easier because I take joy from them. The actual writing, editing, and reading my work (sometimes for revisions and sometimes for audio recording) are incredibly fun experiences. So dedicating energy to them is a pleasure.


Who or what has helped you become a better writer over time?
The writing community, both online and in person, has been integral to my development as a writer over time. There are countless resources online. To name one, Miss Snark’s First Victim (http://misssnarksfirstvictim.blogspot.com/), is a fantastic community for writers to learn and get constructive feedback without being overwhelmed. In person, meeting fellow authors has been invaluable. It’s a great thing meeting nifty people, being inspired by the awesome projects they are working on, and then going out yourself to do nifty things.


When you consider your future, what would you like to make happen for you?
I would like to build a solid writing career sharing stories my readers enjoy. Simple, but there it is.


Where can we find you to tell you how amazing we think you are?
Play Find the Piper around the Internet for insight into her frequent travels and inspirations for her stories.


And finally... If you were ever stranded on a deserted island what would you miss and which three books would you take along?
I’d miss the variety of food to be explored in traveling all around the world. The books I’d take along? Tough choice! Here are three I find myself going back to re-read over and over without getting tired of them:
  • The Ship Who Searched by Anne McCaffrey
  • Queen of the Darkness by Anne Bishop
  • When Demons Walk by Patricia Briggs


Thanks again PJ. It's been great talking to you. :)


Connect with Piper at: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Google + | GoodReads| Youtube



Excerpt from Hidden Impact:

Breathe.

She gasped and cool air rushed in, clearing away some of the fog.

“That’s it, sweetheart. Take another breath nice and slow. Slow.” Strong hands patted her down, touched her with gentle purpose. “Does anything hurt? Your neck, your head?”

“The way you took her down, it’s amazing her skull isn’t splattered all over the sidewalk.” Another man’s voice floated over from some distance away. Or was it a shock thing?

Maybe she was in shock.

Did people’s feet get cold at times like this? Only her left one.

“Your left foot is colder because you lost a shoe when I shoved you out of the way.” A thread of amusement ran through the original speaker’s voice. She liked the sound of it. Kind humor, like what she heard in his words, was the sign of a good man. “I’m going to help you to a sitting position, but if anything hurts at all, you let me know right away and we’re laying you back down. Understood?”

“Yes.” She said it out loud on purpose, because she was pretty sure she’d been talking out loud anyway so it’d be good to know if she could do it when she actually meant to.

The same big hands she’d taken note of before took hold of her, one sliding under her neck to give her support as she came up to a sitting position.

“Slow,” her caretaker admonished.

His choice of speeds was frustrating.





17875-button_basic

No comments :

Post a Comment